Governance Groups

The University of Minnesota's Data Governance Program is supported by the EDMR Steering Committee and the Data Governance Council.

EDMR works in partnership with the OIT Enterprise Data and Analytics Service and the five enterprise data pillars to achieve the full value of the University’s data and information assets for the community.

Data Governance Program

Data Governance Program

Expand all

EDMR Steering Committee

The EDMR Steering Committee is responsible for overseeing the University's Data Governance Program and advancing the EDMR goals of shared data, understanding, tools, and development by:

  • Addressing data management and reporting needs
  • Ensuring systemwide data integration and alignment
  • Endorsing consistent policies and practices
  • Guiding the work of the Data Governance Council


  • Neha Bansal | Office of Information Technology
  • Laurie Beyer-Kropuenske | Office of General Council
  • Chris Boldon | Office of Human Resources
  • Amber Cellotti | Academic Support Resources
  • Dan Hemauer | EFS Module Support
  • Rob Howieson | Office of Information Technology
  • Lincoln Kallsen | Budget & Finance
  • Amy Kucera | Office of Human Resources
  • Susan McKinney | Office of General Council
  • Jennifer Peterson | Office of Information Technology
  • Nicole Pilman | Controller's Office
  • Amy Schult | Institutional Analysis
  • Daniel Sward | University Services
  • Vern Wehrle | Research and Innovation Office
  • Michelle Wills | Carlson School of Management

Data Governance Council

Data governance builds confidence in the university’s information assets by establishing shared understanding through data quality, availability, and usability. The Data Governance Council is tasked by the EDMR Steering Committee to transform the value of information across operational and strategic initiatives by:

  • Formalizing data definitions to support decision-making
  • Promoting data as a valuable asset
  • Ensuring data integrity
  • Collaborating to improve data confidence and accessibility


  • Ian Baebenroth | University Services
  • Daniel Delaney | Academic Support Resources
  • Tim Gagner | Office of Information Technology
  • Mary Gorder | Sponsored Financial Reporting
  • Diane Kistler | Office of Human Resources
  • Nathan Kufner | Office of Information Technology
  • Swati Marathe | University Services
  • Amy Schult | Institutional Analysis (Chair)
  • Chris Smith | Academic Support Resources
  • Edwina Thielen | Office of Information Technology
  • Vern Wehrle | Research and Innovation Office
  • Rahsaan White | Controller's Office
  • Andrew Wilson | University Data and Institutional Reporting